

Abbey Gate College

STATEMENT: Vision, Mission & Aims		
Scope	Whole College	
Responsibility	Head	
Review & Update	September 2024	
Governor Approval	Andrew Grime	

Vision

"To be the school of first choice for families who seek a personalised, caring, and safe educational environment, with excellent curricular and co-curricular provision, and a commitment to preserve, protect, and progress the world we all share."

Mission

"We are committed, within our safe and caring community, that each one of our pupils will become the best that they can be, and have the self-belief to go forward into this changeable world with courage and with compassion."

Aims

We pursue our whole College mission, guided by 3 defining and aspirational aims:

- 1) Self: each pupil cares for their mental and physical wellbeing; learns and achieves to their individual potential; and is content, comfortable and confident to be who they are in our diverse and inclusive College.
- 2) Service: each pupil makes a positive difference to the lives of others in our College, as well as in our local and in wider, global communities.
- 3) Sustainability: each pupil contributes towards preserving and protecting the planet we all inherit and share, and has the opportunity to be creative and innovative; to help further humanity's progress in the future.

Policy Statement

- 1) This statement applies to all members of the Abbey Gate College community, including those in our EYFS setting.
- 2) Abbey Gate College implements this policy statement through adherence to the procedures set out in the College's collection of policies, handbooks, and statements.

- 3) This policy statement is made available to all interested parties on the College website at www.abbeygatecollege.co.uk.
- 4) Abbey Gate College is fully committed to ensuring that the application of this policy statement is non-discriminatory in line with the UK Equality Act (2010). Further details are available in the College's *EDI* policy document.
- 5) This policy statement is reviewed at least annually, or as events or legislation changes require, by the College Leadership Team and the Governing Body. The deadline for the next review is no later than 12 months after the most recent review date indicated above.
- 6) The most recent updates were made on account of personnel changes.

Key Personnel (1) – College Governing Board: Members

Name	Position	College Affiliation
Andrew Grime	Chair of Governors	
Paul Carter	Deputy Chair of Governors	
	Education Committee	
Emma Bunting	Finance Committee	
Vanessa Brodie	Wellbeing Committee [Chair]	Safeguarding
		EYFS
James Brown	Finance Committee [Chair]	EDI
	Wellbeing Committee [Deputy Chair]	GDPR
		Careers
James Goddard	Estates Committee [Chair]	Alumni
	Promotions Committee [Deputy Chair]	
Roger Hoyle	Promotions Committee [Chair]	
Tim Stanley	Finance Committee	PSHE & RSE
	Promotions Committee	
Damian Stenhouse	Education Committee [Chair]	MAGaT
		ECT
		SEND
Brian Wake	Company Secretary	
	Estates Committee	
Canon Rosie Woodall	Wellbeing Committee	
Gareth Lee	Promotions Committee	
Lynne Horner	Estates Committee	
Derek Bunting	Member (Foundation Governor) – Finance	
	Committee	
Noel Dutton	Member (Foundation Governor) – Estates	
	Committee	
Jane Robinson	Member (Foundation Governor) – Estates	
	Committee	

Key:

ECT: Early Career Teacher

EDI: Equality, Diversity & Inclusion EYFS: Early Years Foundation Stage

GDPR: General Data Protection Regulation
MAGaT: More Able, Gifted and Talented
PSHE: Personal, Social & Health Education
RSE: Relationships & Sex Education

SEND: Special Educational Needs & Disabilities

Key Personnel (2) – College Leadership Team

- 1) Craig Jenkinson: Head (Whole College)
- 2) Andy Austen: Senior Deputy Head (Senior School)
- 3) Marie Hickey: Head of Infant & Junior School
- 4) Mike Booth: Deputy Head (Academic) (Senior School)
- 5) Carole Houghton: Deputy Head (Pastoral) (Senior School) & Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL)
- 6) Emma Leatherbarrow: Head of Sixth Form (Academic)
- 7) Dan Rowett: Head of Sixth Form (Pastoral)
- 8) Corinna Travis: Deputy Head of Infant & Junior School & Deputy DSL